SOURCE ET SUITE
If almond milk
were called “almond beverage,” would you still buy it? Of course, you
would. But the dairy industry, in a desperate bid to reverse nosediving
sales, is appealing to the Food and Drug Administration
(FDA) to ban almond, soy, and other plant-based milk from using the
term “milk” on their labels, because it believes that they don’t adhere
to the FDA’s current “standard of identity” for milk.
We think the
real milk dud is dairy, and we’ve responded by urging the FDA to expand
its archaic definition to include beverages made from almonds, cashews,
coconuts, hemp, rice, soy, and other plant-based ingredients, which are
known as “milk” all over the world.
We’re also reminding the
agency that milk obtained from cows with mastitis (udder infections) and
other illnesses commonly found on dairy factory farms
shouldn’t be called “milk” under the existing definition, either.
Government regulations currently allow pus from infected cows in every
jug of cow’s milk.