Loading...

vendredi 1 janvier 2016

TOUT SUR LE AGAR AGAR............... VEGAN!!

SOURCE ET SUITE


 POUR REMPLACER LA GELATINE QUI ELLE EST ANIMALE ET NON VEGETALE 

Luckily, there is a plant-based alternative to gelatin and it’s called agar-agar. Agar is a type of seaweed that has extremely powerful thickening and gelling properties. Agar is commonly used by modernist chefs who specialize in molecular gastronomy, but you don’t need a chemistry degree to use it. Here’s everything you ever wanted to know about agar-agar, the plant-based answer to gelatin.

1. What is Agar-Agar

peanut-butter-cream-and-raspberry-chiffon-pie-1200x777
Agar, also known as agar-agar, is a mix of carbohydrates extracted from seaweed, specifically Red Sea algae. It’s also known by its Japanese name, Kanten. Agar-agar has no flavor, odor or color so it’s helpful as a culinary ingredient. It can be used to substitute for gelatin, thicken soups, and make jams and jellies, ice cream, and other desserts that need to set.
There are a few differences between agar-agar and gelatin. Agar sets more firmly than gelatin so recipes will be less jiggly and less creamy. It stays firm even in high temperatures so on hot days, you don’t have to worry about your Peanut Butter Creme and Raspberry Chiffon Pie collapsing during the summer.